What is This Feeling?

Interlude

Today I was deprived of my sanity for a short while; it has been Monday all day long after all, and it certainly has lived up to its reputation! I work at two RTCs (Residential Treatment Centers) for teenage girls, and today was one for the books. I’m foregoing today’s part of my story in an effort to try and regain some semblance of sanity before I lay me down for the night.

We had two major incidents that left emotions running high and my girls upset and unsettled. I am a teacher, so classes were difficult today…crazy making, really. We couldn’t get into the lessons I had ready. That’s okay. I know this comes with the job, but sometimes it’s hard to switch hats and try and make things work on a moment’s notice. We got through it, but major changes will happen at work,effective immediately, which means life is going to get hard for a while. Deprivation happens willy-nilly and takes no prisoners…everyone has to work their way through, deprived of normalcy, deprived of routine and comfort. We all encounter such as this in our lives and must pull ourselves up and out of the chaos and move on.

I’m not sure what I’m feeling tonight. One minute I am moving smoothly along, and then the day settles upon my shoulders and I sink a little. Is this sadness? Is this anxiety? Everything seems to have taken on a different color, a harsh, golden glow…what is that about? Will tomorrow bring the world around right? I sure hope so.

 

Deprive is the word for today:

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/deprive/”>Deprive</a>

Leave a Reply

